Duxbury: Voters approve all three ballot questions

Duxbury voters approved all three ballot questions at Saturday’s town elections:

  • One allows forconstruction and design money for a new police station on Mayflower Street (2,597 to 1,156)
  • One allows the town to borrow construction money for a fire station renovation (2,231 to 1,507)
  • One funds the schematic design phase for a new co-located middle and high school (2,285 to 1,492)

With two contested races on the ballot, residents elected Jennifer Turcotte to a five-year seat on the Planning Board. Turcotte defeated Paul McCormack, 1,519 to 1,355.

For two seats on the Board of Library Trustees, residents elected Brooke McDonough (2,187) and Donna Ryan (2,245), over a third candidate Elizabeth “Sunny” Steadman(1,319).

Selectmen: Ted Flynn won an uncontested race for a seat on the Board of Selectmen. He’ll replace Betsy Sullivan. She chose not to seek re-election.

School Committee: Anne Ward and Maureen Connolly won re-election to the School Committee in uncontested races.

Assessor: Elected to a term as assessor is June Albritton

Moderator: Friend Weiler Sr. is chosen again as moderator

Planning Board: Brian Glennon for an unexpired term on the Planning Board

Board of Library Trustees: Lamont Healy for an unexpired term on the Board of Library Trustees

Duxbury Housing Authority: Alden Rinquist is elected to the Housing Authority

Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small


About WATD Web Editor

WATD online and on air contributors include, but are not limited to: The Associated Press, Precision Weather Forecasting, local news stringers and reporters, in-house news and internet media staff, State House and town hall reporters, freelance reporters, special feature reporters and producers, and on air radio hosts and personnel.