Abington Town Election: Tri-Town development CEO wins selectman seat, debt exclusion passes

Three-term incumbent Selectman Gerald Corcoran finished last out of four candidates for two seats on the board of selectmen in the town’s annual election. Kenneth Coyle came in first with 1,000 votes. Kevin Donovan finished in second place with 833 votes. Patrick Tyler lost by just six votes to Donovan with 827.

Donovan is the chief executive officer of the South Shore Tri-Town Development Corp., and had previously served three terms on the Board of Selectmen. Some of Donovan’s critics had said that his position could be a conflict of interest if he were a selectman, but voters apparently disagreed and voted for him.

In other contested races in Abington, incumbent Tracey Derbes defeated Michael Hickey with 943 votes to 598, to win a three-year seat on the Board of Assessors. For School Committee, Jannette Cummings-Leary and Ellen Killian defeated challengers Joseph Mastrangelo and Patricia McDonnell. Sewer Commissioners Mark Jamieson and John Brown were re-elected to three-year positions against challenger Victor Young. And incumbents Betty Henderson, Christina McMahon, and John O’Neill Jr., were all re-elected to three-year terms as Public Library Trustees.

Voters also passed a ballot question by a 946-590 margin in favor of a Proposition 2-1/2 debt exclusion to fund the Woodsdale School Green Repair Project for the replacement of doors and windows. The town is expecting 55% reimbursement from the state out of the total cost of $1,510,000. Only about 17% of the town’s registered voters turned out at the polls on Saturday in Abington.

Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small


About WATD Web Editor

WATD online and on air contributors include, but are not limited to: The Associated Press, Precision Weather Forecasting, local news stringers and reporters, in-house news and internet media staff, State House and town hall reporters, freelance reporters, special feature reporters and producers, and on air radio hosts and personnel.