Cohasset: Police station kiosk agreement stirs controversy

The Cohasset police union has reached an agreement to keep the town’s police station open round the clock, as the town prepares to join a regional emergency dispatch center.

The issue was taken up at the selectmen’s meeting Tuesday night.

Hingham, Norwell, Hull and Cohasset fire and police are merging into a regional 911 emergency dispatch center in Hingham.

Cohasset has struck a deal through the town manager and police union to keep their police station open 24/7, by posting an officer at the station at all times, while 2 others are patrolling on road.

However, the station might have to close during an emergency, when the desk officer is called out to assist the other two.

Former Cohasset Police Sergeant Richard Abbadessa said that’s a mistake.

“This is idea to have a guy – an officer in there and then close the station to go out and respond – we’re going backwards, absolutely going backwards. I believe Cohasset is probably the fifth or sixth most affluent town in Massachusetts and we’re going backwards for safety”, Abbadessa told selectmen.

But Cohasset Deputy Police Chief Bill Quigley said there’ll be an emergency kiosk at the police station, in the event the desk officer is called out on an emergency.

“On the rare occasion, when someone is going come to the police station and the desk officer has left the station to assist with an emergency, there’ll be a kiosk inside the lobby of the station, where they can hit a button that’s going to automatically dial 911. It’s going to lock you in that room, so you’re safe from anybody possibly chasing you and you’ll be serviced by that 911 operator”, Quigley said.

The regional dispatch center is due to begin operations in a few weeks.


Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small


About John Penny

John Penny is a town news reporter at WATD. He primarily covers stories in the towns of Marshfield, Cohasset, Scituate, Norwell, Hingham, Abington and Quincy.