Cohasset: Incumbent Kennedy and newcomer McCarthy win selectmen’s race

A large turnout of 37% of registered voters hit the polls at the Cohasset annual town election Saturday to decide three contested races; Board of Selectmen, Sewer Commission and Housing Authority.

The selectmen’s race featured 2 seats up for grabs.

Incumbent Selectman Diane Kennedy will keep her seat on the board after winning with 1,455 votes.

Kevin McCarthy won the second selectmen’s seat and pulled in 1,245 votes over Incumbent Selectman Fred Koed at 900 – Koed is losing his seat after 15 long years of service on the board.

Diane Kennedy thanked her supporters and graciously acknowledged Fred Koed’s many years as a Cohasset selectman.

“I want to thank all my voters and my team that helped me get out the vote today, and I thank my colleagues, and actually wish Fred Koed the very best. I have enjoyed my three years on the board working with him. He’s been terrific.”

Selectman Elect Kevin McCarthy thanked the voters for their support and also had kind words for Fred Koed.

“It was a good campaign and all three of us worked very hard for it. I want to commend Fred Koed for all the years of wonderful service he has given to Cohasset. He ran a nice good race.

I’m very pleased to have gotten the approval and vote by the people of Cohasset to be their next selectman. I look forward to working very hard to deliver on the promises and the desires that I think the voters want,” McCarthy said.

Incumbent Wayne Sawchuck will remain on the Sewer Commission after winning 1,149 over challenger James Gilman at 787.

Incumbent Virginia Najmi won the Housing Authority race garnering 1,023 votes to win over opponent Beverly Koswick with 690.



Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small


About John Penny

John Penny is a town news reporter at WATD. He primarily covers stories in the towns of Marshfield, Cohasset, Scituate, Norwell, Hingham, Abington and Quincy.