Scituate: Town election rejects school committee write-in candidate – approves non-binding seawall ballot questions

About 11% of Scituate’s registered voters hit the polls for their annual town election over the weekend, featuring one contested race for Library Trustee, a write-in candidate vying for a seat on the school committee and two non-binding ballot questions regarding seawall repair.

Two Incumbent Library Trustees will keep their seats; Karen Canfield with 861 votes and Christopher Mirarchi with 828, to win over challenger Virginia Ayers at 677.

Laurie Withrow declared herself as a write-in candidate for a position on the school committee, but did not muster enough votes to win a seat.

Incumbent Brenda Bowen won her school committee re-election bid, pulling in 950 votes over 251 write-ins.

Janet Taylor also won a seat on the school committee, garnering 1023 votes over 179 write-ins.

Voters said yes, 906 to 748, to non-binding ballot question #1, asking if they’d support a $15,000,000, 20 year debt-exclusion override to repair seawalls, berms and revetments.

Voters also voted favorably, 894 to 536,  to a second non-binding ballot question, supporting the concept of betterments for properties that benefit from seawalls, berms and revetment repairs.



About John Penny

John Penny is a town news reporter at WATD. He primarily covers stories in the towns of Marshfield, Cohasset, Scituate, Norwell, Hingham, Abington and Quincy.