Whitman: Saturday’s Election Results

Only one contested race appeared in this year’s Whitman elections: 3 candidates running for two spots on the PK-12 Whitman-Hanson Regional School District Committee.

Newcomer Christopher Scriven took the first spot with 35% of the town’s vote; incumbent Committee Vice-Chair Fredrick Small took 22% of the vote, edging out the other candidate, Heidi Hosmer, by just 30 votes.

The other unopposed elected officials are as follows: Priscilla Waugh to the Board of Assessors, Sheila Marie Salvucci to the Planning Board, Wayne Carroll to the DPW, Dawn Varley as Town Clerk, Michael Ganshirt and Kathryn Youngman as Public Library Trustees, and, finally, Daniel Salvucci to the Board of Selectmen.

Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small

About Mimi Walker

Mimi Walker is a 2016 graduate from Emerson College, holding a Bachelor of Science degree in journalism. While at Emerson, she was both an avid reporter and an on-air music personality at 88.9 WERS, Emerson’s long-running radio station. She also wrote for several on-campus publications. She covered the 2015 Edward R. Murrow awards in New York City, and had previous internships at 103.3 AMP radio and at Seacrest Studios in Boston Children’s Hospital (as well as with Rob and Lisa on the South Shore Morning News!) Her proudest academic achievement is being a TOMODACHI scholar and contributing to an iBook about American Senator and war hero Daniel Inouye, which led her all across Japan in her many school travels. Thanks to her time in Japan, and a semester abroad in the Netherlands, Mimi has an appetite for stories and all kinds of art across the globe.