WATD Election Results

Donald Trump has been elected president of the United States.

WATD is declaring Republican State Rep. Matt Muratore the winner of the 1st Plymouth District race (Plymouth) over Democrat John Mahoney.

Republican State Rep. Susan Gifford has been declared the winner of the 2nd Plymouth District race (Carver, Middleboro, Wareham) over Democrat Sarah Hewins.

Democrat Joan Meschino has been declared the winner of the 3rd Plymouth District State Rep. race (Hull, Cohasset, Hingham, Scituate) over Republican Kristen Arute.

Democratic State Rep. Jim Cantwell has been declared the winner of the 4th Plymouth District race (Scituate & Marshfield) over Republican Michael White.

Republican State Rep. Dave DeCoste has been declared the winner of the 5th Plymouth District (Norwell, Hanover, Rockland) over Democrat Kara Nyman.

Democratic State Rep. Josh Cutler has been declared the winner of the 6th Plymouth District (Duxbury, Pembroke, Hanson) over Republican Vince Cogiliano.

Democratic State Rep. Tom Calter has been declared the winner of the 12th Plymouth District race over Republican Peter Boncek (Kingston, Halifax, Plymouth, Plympton, Duxbury, Middleboro).

Republican Senator Patrick O’Connor has been declared the winner over Democrat Paul Gannon for the Plymouth/Norfolk State Senate seat.

Democrat John Keenan has been declared the winner of the Norfolk/Plymouth State Senate race over Republican Alex Mendez.

Republican Sheriff Joe McDonald has been declared the winner of Plymouth County Sheriff over Democrat Scott Vecchi.

Democratic Congressman Stephen Lynch has been declared the winner in the 8th Congressional race over Republican Bill Burke.

Democratic Congressman Bill Keating has been declared the winner of the 9th Congressional District race over Republican Mark Alliegro.

Greg Hanley and Dan Pallotta have been declared the winners for Plymouth County Commissioner.

Rockland and Hull voters passed their Community Preservation Act Question, while East Bridgewater did not.

Halifax voters shot down their debt exclusion question.

Three members of Massachusetts’ congressional delegation have also won re-election.

U.S. Reps. Richard Neal, Niki Tsongas and Joe Kennedy all are headed back to Washington.

Neal’s district covers much of the western part of the state. Tsongas’ district includes Lowell and Lawrence, and Kennedy’s stretched from Brookline and Newton south to Fall River and Taunton.

All three handily overcame their Republican challengers.


Question #1 Fails with 61% “No”: Voters have rejected the ballot measure that would allow the Massachusetts Gaming Commission to issue and additional license for another slots parlor to exist in the state.

Question #2 Fails with 62% “No”: Voters have rejected the ballot measure that would have expanded the number of charter schools in Massachusetts by up to a dozen a year.

Question #3 Passes with 78% “Yes”: Voters have approved the ballot measure to ban the sale of eggs and other food products in Massachusetts that come from farms where animals are confined to overly restrictive cages or spaces.

Question #4 Passes with 53% “Yes”: Voters have approved the ballot measure that will legalize, regulate and tax the sale of recreational marijuana for adults 21 and over in Massachusetts. To take effect Dec. 15, 2016


Reach Thousands of Potential Customers on The South Shore and Beyond! Call WATD Today for More Info on Radio and Internet Advertising: (781) 837-1166

watd signal 2017 small

About WATD Web Editor

WATD online and on air contributors include, but are not limited to: The Associated Press, Precision Weather Forecasting, local news stringers and reporters, in-house news and internet media staff, State House and town hall reporters, freelance reporters, special feature reporters and producers, and on air radio hosts and personnel.